List of Banking and Financial Committees

Sl #

Committee Name



1DR Gadgil Committee1944Agricultural Finance
2Mahalanobis Committee1964 National Income
3DR Gadgil Committee1968Social approach on banking review of institutional condition
4FKF Nariman Committee1969Branch expansion programme
5Hathi Committee1970Soiled Bank Notes
6Chatalier Committee1970Finance to small scale industry
7Khusro Committee1970Small village and cottage industry
8Dandekar Committee1970Regional imbalances
9Varshney Committee1975Revised method for loans of Rs.2 lac or more
10N Narsimhan Committee1975Establishment of RRBs
11CE Kamathv Committee1976Multi-institutional approach in Agr finance
12Dr RK Hajari Committee1976Coodn between coop credit institutions
13NL Dantwala Committee1978Viability of RRBs
14James Raj Committee1978Systems and procedures of working in PSBs
15Baldev Singh Committee1978Simplification of loan procedures and documentation relating to agricultural and allied activities
16K Madhav Das Committee1978Urban Coop Banks
17G Luxminarayan Committee1978Consortium Finance - Public/private sector
18R K Talwar Committee1979Customer service
19K S Krishaswami Committee1980Role of banks in priority sector advances and 20 point programmes
20Shivaraman Committee1981To immplement the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development and NABARD was established
21Puri Committee1982Uniformity of loan application
22S Chakravarty Committee1982Review of monetary system in banking industry
23A Ghosh Committee1982Priority sector and 20 point programme
24UK Sharma Committee1982Review of lead bank scheme
25Tiwari Committee1983Indl sickness and rehabilitation of sick units
26Pandharkar Committee1983Periodical inspection by RBI
27 Chakravarty Committee1985Review the working of the monetary system.
28Marathe Committee1985Credit Authorisation scheme - fast track
29 Khusro Committee1986 Agricultural Credit
30Vaghul Committee1986Money market
31G S Patel Committee1986Organisation & management of stock exchange
32SM Kelkar Committee1986RRB and its relative Acts
33Abid Hussain Committee1987 Profit making public units should offer a part of their share capital to the public as part of long term strategy to establish the stock exchange.
34Vagul committee1987 Money Market.
35Abid Hussain Committee1987Development of capital market
36PD Ojha Committee1988Service Area Approach
37SC Kalyansundaram Committee1989Introduction of factoring services
38 Goiporia Committee1990 Customer Service in banks.
39 A Ghosh Committee1991 Bank frauds & malpractices.
40Narasimham Committee - I1991 Examine all aspects relating to the structure, organization & functioning of the financial system.
41M N Goiporia Committee1991Customer service improvement
42SA Dave Committee1991Functioning of Mutual funds
43A C Shah Committee1992On deposit insurance for non-banking finance companies (NBFCs). It has recommended that General Insurance Corporation (GIC) and Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation (DICGC) provide the risk cover.
44C Rao Committee1992Agriculture policy
45AC Shah Committee1992NBFCs
46Nadkarni SS Committee1992Trading in public sector bonds
47Raja Chelliah Committee1992Tax reforms
48Ghosh Committee1992Frauds & malapractices in banks
49 J.V. Shetty Committee1993Review the system of lending under consortium arrangements & to suggest improvements therein.
50 Sundaram Committee1993Structure of export credit.
51 Goswami Committee1993 Industrial sickness & corporate restructuring.
52 Janakiraman Committee1993Securities transactions of banks & financial institutions.
53J V Shetty Committee1993Consortium lending by banks
54PR Nayak Committee1993Institutional credit to SS SSIs
55Goswami Committee1993Indl sickness and exit policy
56Jilani R Committee1993Credit delivery system
57D R Mehta Committee1993Review of progress of IRDP
58 Khanna Committee1994Monitoring the work of NBFCS. Non-Banking Financial Corporations
59 W.S. Saraf Committee1994Technology Issues relating to Payments System, Cheque Clearing and Securities Settlement in the Banking Industry
60 Malhotra Committee1994Insurance Sector reforms and establishment of IRDA
61Sodhani Committee1995NRI investments in India
62Padmanabhan Committee1995Banking supervision
63Shere K S Committee1995Electronic funds transfer- legal issues
64BD Shah Committee1996Stock lending Scheme and short-selling
65 A.V. Gupta Committee1997Agricultural loans
66 S.S Tarapore Committee1997This committee was set up by the Reserve Bank of India under the Chairmanship of former RBI deputy governor S.S Tarapore to -lay the roadmap- to capital account convertibility.
67B D Shah Committee1997Stock lending scheme
68Tarapore Committee1997Capital account convertibility
69 Narasimham Committee II1998Banking Sector Reforms: The reforms consisted of
i. A shift of banking sector supervision from intrusive micro-level intervention over credit decisions toward prudential regulations and supervision.
ii. A reduction of the CRR and SLR.
iii. Interest rate and entry deregulation; and
iv. application of prudential norms.
70Dave Committee1998Mutual Funds
71M Narsimham Committee1998Financial Sector reforms
72S L Kapoor Committee1998Institutional credit to SSIs
73R H Khan Committee1998Harmonisation of role of FIs & Banks
74Y V Reddy Committee1998Financial aggregates system
75L C Gupta Committee1998Financial derivatives
76 Verma Committee1999Revival of weak public sector banks.
77B Eradi Committee1999Insolvency and bankruptcy law
78SN Verma Committee1999Restructuring of Commercial Banks
79M S Verma Committee1999Measures for Weak Banks
80YV Reddy Committee2001Income Tax Review
81 Kelkar Committee2002Indirect tax reforms
82 J.J. Irani Committee2005Company Law reforms and investor protection
83Rangarajan Committee2008Financial Inclusion
84Vijal Kelkar Committee2012Fiscal Reforms and fiscal consolidation
85 Jilani Committee Loan Systems/Relating to Internal Control and Inspection/Audit System in Banks
86Usha Thorat Committee Financial Inclusion
87M Damodaran Committee Banking Customer Service
88J Reddy Committee Reforms in Insurance Sector
89R J Kamath Committee Education Loan Scheme
90Karve Committee Small Scale Industry/Sectors
91Khanna Committee Non-Performing Assets
92Rajamannar Committee Changes in Banking Laws regarding cheque bounce
93K R Chandratre Committee Delisting of Shares
94C.B. Bhave Committee Disclosure Standards
95L. C. Gupta Committee Regulation of derivatives trading
96R. Chandrasekaran Committee Recommend speedy transfers of shares.