Current Affairs International - 18 October 2015

1. The UN General Assembly elected Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay to serve as non-permanent members on the Security Council for two-year terms, from 1st January 2016 till 31st December 2017.The other non-permanent members, namely Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela, are expected to be in Council until the end of 2016.

2. Nepal-s Parliament elected Nepal-s first woman speaker, UCPN-Maoist lawmaker Onsari Gharti Magar, after formation of a new government after promulgation of the Constitution. Nepal's Constituent Assembly was converted into the legislative Parliament after the promulgation of the Constitution in the previous month following which K P Sharma Oli was elected as the new prime minister.