Current Affairs India - 31 March 2016

1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel have launched Asia's biggest telescope which was built by the Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences (ARIES) with the assistance of Belgian. The telescope with a mirror of 3.6 m diameter has been located at a height of 2,500 metres at Devasthal in Nainital district to get a clear view of the sky.

2. Bihar state Assemblyhas unanimously passed the Bihar Excise (Amendment) Bill 2016 to enforce the ban on country made liquor from 1st April this year. The 1915 liquor Bill was amended to incorporate stricter penal provisions, including death penalty for manufacturers and distributors of illicit liquor in the event of a hooch tragedy. This will be followed by complete ban of liquor in the state as promised by Nitish Kumar during his poll campaign.

3. India-s eight core sector industries grew by 5.7% in February compared to same month last year. This is the highest growth rate of the core sectors in last 15 months due to steep rise in production of fertiliser, cement and refinery products. The eight core industries which are cement, coal, crude oil, natural gas, refinery products, fertilisers, steel and electricity account for nearly 38% of the Index of Industrial Production.

For the April-February period of the current financial year 2015-16, the eight industries grew by 2.3% compared to 5% in the same period last financial year.

4. Indian IT Services Company Wipro Limited has appointed Patrick Dupuis to its Board of Directors, with effective from 1st April 2016. He currently serves as the Senior Vice President for Simplicity, Quality and Productivity at Global technology platform and payments leader, PayPal Holdings, Inc.

5. Indian Direct Selling Association (IDSA) has appointed Jitendra Jagota as the new Chairman of its new Executive Committee at the General Body Meeting held in New Delhi. He is currently working as the Director Legal and Government Affairs, Avon Beauty Products India Pvt. Ltd. He will succeed Mr. Rajat Banerji.