Current Affairs India - 29 June 2015

1. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa inaugurated first phase of Chennai Metro service by flagged off the inaugural train. The first phase of Metro service covers the 10-km overhead (elevated) stretch which connects Alandur in south Chennai to Koyabedu in the north. The second phase of this metro connecting Chennai Central and St. Thomas Mount is will be ready by end of this year.

2. Chairman of Sakal Media Group (SMG) Prataprao Pawar was awarded with the Punyabhushan Award by President Pranab Mukharjee at Balgandharva Auditorium in Pune. He is the 27th recipient of the Punyabhushan award and his name was selected for the award by a committee led by scientist Raghunath Mashelkar.

The Punyabhushan (Pride of Pune) award is annually announced by the Punyabhushan Foundation on 23 March with a view to commemorate the memory of Indian revolutionary martyrs Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev, and Rajguru.

3. Famous Writer Vishwanath Tripathi was selected for the 28th Moorti Devi Award for the year 2014 for his book Vyomkesh Darvesh. Vyomkesh Darvesh is a lifetime story of Acharya Hazari Prasad Dwivedi. His other famous works include Lokwadi Tulsidas, Meera Ka Kavya, Desh ke is Daur Main, Kuch Kahaniyan Kuch Vichar, Ped Ka Hath, Jaisa Kaha Saka and Nagatlai Ka Gaon.

4. United Bank of India's tops the list of PSU banks in terms of bad loans with 21.5% assets are either bad or have been restructured to save them from turning non-performing assets (NPAs), as per data released by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) to the Finance Ministry.

Other banks with high amount of gross NPA and restructured loan includes Central Bank of India (21.30%), Indian Overseas Bank (19.40%), Punjab & Sind Bank (18.74%) and Punjab National Bank with 17.94% as end of March 2015.

5. Indian shuttlers Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa won the Canada Open women-s doubles title after defeating the top-seeded Dutch pair of Eefje Muskens and Selena Piek by 21-19 21-16 in the final match yesterday. This was their first title win since their reunion after the 2012 London Olympics.

6. BCCI has announced Ajinkya Rahane as captain of the Indian team for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour. The Indian cricket team will tour Zimbabwe for three One-Day Internationals (ODI) and two Twenty-20 Internationals.