Current Affairs India - 27 September 2015

1. Employees- Provident Fund Organisation (EPFO) was awarded with the Skoch Award for Smart Governance at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi on 23rd September for its initiatives on UAN Programme and Transformation of Social Security Agenda in India. EPFO was also awarded two SKOCH Order-of-Merits, one for launching UAN for EPFO members and another for transformation of Social Security Agenda in India.

Skoch Smart Governance Award is an initiative recognizing top performing government organizations and organizations working with the government, operating at local, state and national level. The award is given in the area of Health, Education, Rural Development/Panchayati Raj, Urban Development, Finance, and Security.

2. Bajaj Auto launched its much-awaited RE60 quadricycle, named as -Qute-, at a free-on-board (FoB) price tag of USD 2,000. The vehicle is meant only for export markets for now, as the regulations for India are not yet in place because of an ongoing public interest litigation in the Supreme Court.

The vehicle will be shipped to 16 countries, including Turkey, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bangladesh, Kenya, Peru and Ecuador, starting early next month and will start with around 100 units initially.

3. Switchgear products and fan maker Standard, a part of Havells India, has roped in Bollywood actress Alia Bhatt as its brand ambassador for its range of products. As a part of the deal, Alia would endorse Standard-s range of home and industrial switches and range of premium fans.

4. Top seeded Sania Mirza and her Women-s double partner Martina Hingis continued their unbeaten run as they won the Guangzhou Open title on 26th September after defeating Shilin Xu-Xiaodi You in the final match by 6-3, 6-1. With this win, Sania claimed her seventh title of the season.

5. India's most successful cueist Pankaj Advani won the IBSF World Billiards Championship after defeating his opponent in the final to win the world title for 14th time. He defeated Singapore's Peter Gilchrist by 1168 points.

6. The government has announced the recipients of prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award which is considered to be a coveted science honour in the country. The Ministry of Science and Technology announced 11 awards in seven different fields this year.

In Biological Science category, Balasubramanian Gopal of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore and Rajeev Kumar Varshney of International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) were chosen for the award. Jyotiranjan Srichandan Ray from the Physical Science Laboratory, Ahmedabad was chosen from the field of Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences while Yogesh Joshi from IIT Kanpur was selected for the awards in the field of Engineering Sciences. In the field of Mathematical Sciences, Ritabrata Munshi from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai and K Sandeep from TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore were chosen for the award. Vidita Vaidya from the TIFR Mumbai bagged the award from the medical science category.

In the Physical Sciences category, Bedangadas Mohanty from the National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneshwar and Mandar Deshmukh from the TIFR Mumbai were selected. D Srinivasa Reddy from CSIR's National Chemical Laboratory, Pune and Pradyut Ghosh form the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur were selected for the award in the category of Chemical Sciences.
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the late Sir Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. The prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology.