Current Affairs India - 26 August 2014

1. President Pranab Mukherjee appointed four new governors today for Rajasthan, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Goa. Kalyan Singh, Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala, C. Vidyasagar Rao and Mridula Sinha have been appointed as new Governor of Rajasthan, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Goa respectively.

C. Vidyasagar Rao succeeds K Sankaranarayanan who resigned after he was transferred to Mizoram. Kalyan Singh succeeded Margaret Alva who completed her tenure early this month. Mridula Sinha succeeded B V Wanchoo who resigned last month and Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala succeeded H R Bhardwaj who had completed his complete tenure.

2. Bhartiya Janata Party has announced a twelve-member Parliamentary Board today, which includes names of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP general Secretary J P Nadda among others. The complete list of the BJP Parliamentary Board reads: Amit Shah; Narendra Modi; Rajnath Singh; Sushma Swaraj; Arun Jaitley; M Venkaiah Naidu; Nitin Gadkari; Ananth Kumar; Thawarchand Gehlot; Shivraj Singh Chouhan; J P Nadda; Ramlal; Jual Oram; Shahnawaz Hussain; Vijaya Rahatkar.

Veteran party leaders LK Advani and MM Joshi were not included in the board but were included in a new body, the 'Margdarshak Mandal'. The 'Margdarshak Mandal' (guiding body) is a five-member body that consitutes of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Narendra Modi, LK Advani, MM Joshi and Rajnath Singh.

3. Kerala Governor Sheila Dikshit resigned today one day after she met President Pranab Mukherjee and Home Minister Rajnath Singh. The former Delhi chief minister was appointed the Governor of Kerala by the UPA-II government about five months ago.