Current Affairs India - 22 May 2016

1. Nitish Kumar led Bihar Government has announced the ban on sale, distribution, storage, manufacture, consumption and publicity of tobacco products like gutka and pan masala after imposing complete liquor ban in the state in last month. The ban on both packaged and unpackaged edible items containing tobacco content will remain effective for a period of one year.

2. The US House of Representatives have given its nod to a bipartisan legislation to improve defence ties with India after an amendment to the National Defence Authorisation Act (NDAA) was approved by the House. The legislation, once approved by the Senate and the President, will make India on par with its NATO allies and Israel.

3. BJP leader and former IPS officer Kiran Bedi has been appointed as the new Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry. Currently, Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Ajay Kumar Singh is holding the additional charge of Puducherry. With this, after a gap of almost two years, Puducherry will now have a full time Lt. Governor.

4. Former Finance Secretary, Ratan P Watal has been appointed as the Principle Adviser for social sector in Niti Aayog for three years. He is a retired IAS officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre and had been Finance Secretary between August last year and April this year.

5. UK based banking giant, HSBC Holding Plc announced its plan to close 24 branches in India as its strategic review of its retail banking and wealth management business showed customers are increasingly opting for digital banking services. This decision will lead to 300 jobs losses.

6. BJP leader Anurag Thakur was unanimously elected as the BCCI president and Ajay Shirke was chosen as secretary of BCCI today, the youngest president of BCCI. Anurag Thakur replaced Shashank Manohar who quit the position recently to take up the ICC chairman's job.

Thakur got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI presidential nomination form on Saturday, which makes him the unanimous choice as the 34th President of the Indian Cricket body.

7. Bengal Football club Mohun Bagan won the Federation Cup title for the 14th time. After defeating Aizawl FC by 5-0 in the Final played at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati on Saturday evening. With this, Mohun Bagan won the tournament after a gap of 8 years.