Current Affairs India - 13 December 2013

1. Vasundhara Raje, who led BJP to a landslide victory in Rajasthan Assembly polls, was sworn in as the Chief Minister today for the second time. She was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Margaret Alva during a grand swearing-in ceremony today in presence of Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh,  Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and other top party leaders.

2. The Supreme Court granted bail to Rashtriya Janata Dal Chief chief Lalu Prasad Yadav in fodder scam case today. Lalu was convicted in the fodder scam case and sentenced to five years. A bench headed by Chief Justice P Sathasivam granted bail after noting that several other similarly placed convicts have already been granted bail in the case. Lalu Prasad Yadav has already spent 12 months behind bars, including two months of his five-year sentence. Lalu had moved the apex court challenging the order of the Jharkhand High Court which had dismissed his bail plea.

3. The C Rangarajan panel recommended the guidelines prescribing bailout packages for developers of highway projects and the task of implementation lie with the National Highway Authority of India (NHAI). The panel recommended that 75% of the premium amount payable to the government will be restricted in the first three years of the contract. If the panel-s recommendations are accepted, It will lead to huge reduction in the premium payment in the first years. As a result, it will provide relief to the developers like GMR Infrastructure Ltd and GVK Power and Infrastructure Ltd and 23 other road developers.

4. Devyani Khobragade, Deputy Consul General at the Indian Consulate was arrested today for allegedly presenting fraudulent documents in support of a visa application for an Indian national employed by her, Manhattan-s top federal prosecutor Preet Bharara said. Khobragade is currently employed as the Deputy Consul General for Political, Economic, Commercial and Women-s Affairs at the Consulate General of India in New York.

5. Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan has been named the 'most powerful celebrity of 2013' by Forbes India for the second time in a row. Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni moved up from the third spot last year to second spot this year with his immense popularity and endorsement deals. Salman khan slipped to third spot followed by Sachin Tendulkar (4th), Amitabh Bachchan (5th) and Akshay Kumar(6th). Katrina Kaif is the only women in the list of top 10 Indian celebrities.

6. The Indian Dairy Association has awarded D Tikku, Chairman, NDDB Dairy Services, with the 10th Dr Kurien Award in recognition of his contribution to the Indian dairy industry. IDA had instituted the biennial Dr Kurien Award. The award was presented in the 42nd dairy industry conference, held at Chennai recently.

7. S.B. Nayar has taken charge as the Chairman and Managing Director of India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd (IIFCL). He was the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of IFCI Ltd, took charge at IIFCL from December 12. Nayar is also the Chairman on the Board of Governors of Management Development Institute (MDI) and Institute of Leadership Development, and member of the Entrepreneurship Development Institute.

8. Eastern Army Command, Lieutenant General Dalbir Singh Suhag was designated as the Vice Chief of Army Staff (VCoAS). He will take over from Lieutenant General SK Singh as the Vice Chief of Army Staff retires on 31 December this year. He will be replaced by Lieutenant General MMS Rai at the Kolkata based Eastern Army Command. He is also expected to succeed as the Chief of the Indian Army Staff, after the retirement of General Bikram Singh on 31 July 2014 based on his seniority.

9. Wal-Mart India has appointed Krish Iyer as President and CEO of Walmart India, effective January 20, 2014. He will replace interim CEO Ramnik Narsey. He will report to Walmart Asia regional president and CEO Scott Price.

10. India won the women's Kabaddi World Cup championship for the third time in a row today after defeating New Zealand 49-21 in the final match in Jalandhar, Punjab. With this win, the Indian team took home a first-place prize of 1 crore rupees. Anu Rani was declared the best stopper and Ram Bateri was declared the best raider. Both received a Maruti Alto car each. Indian women-s team won the 2011, 2012, and 2013 editions of World cups earlier.

11. Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara won the 'Emerging Cricketer of the Year' trophy at the ICC Annual awards announced in Dubai today. This is his first ever ICC Award for Pujara who became the second fastest Indian to get 1000 Test runs during the course of his double hundred against Australia in March at Hyderabad. Another Indian to win ICC Annual award is Mahendra Singh Dhoni who gets LG People's Choice award.

Australian captain Michael Clarke clinched the top honours. He also won the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.