Current Affairs India - 11 January 2016

1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has released a book titled -MARU BHARAT SARU BHARAT -(My India Noble India) written by Jain Acharya Ratnasundersuriswarji Maharaj. This is the 300th book of Ratnasundersuriswarji Maharaj. In his book, he has highlighted various social evils, deficiencies prevailing at individual level.

2. Famous Hindi author and journalist Ravindra Kalia passed away this weekend in New Delhi. He was 78. He is known for his works like Nau Saal Chotti Patni and Ghalib Chutti Sharab. The former Bharatiya Jnanpith director, Kalia was also the editor of several literary magazines, including Naya Gyanodaya.

3. Union Government has extend ended tenure of Dr Urjit R Patel, as Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI), for another three years till 2019. Patel joined RBI on 11th January 11 and his first term was supposed to get over on 11th January this year. As deputy governor, he had headed a committee that paved the way for the proposed monetary policy committee.

4. India's leading online marketplace Flipkart has announced that its co-founder Binny Bansal will be its new CEO while other co-founder and current CEO Sachin Bansal will be the company's Executive Chairman.

Sachin Bansal will provide mentoring to the Flipkart leadership team and he will also look for new investment opportunities and play an active role in championing the Indian e-commerce sector and building the internet ecosystem.

5. India-s Sania Mirza retained No 1 rank in women-s double list and her partner Martina Hingis retained 2nd rank as per the latest tennis WTA rankings published today. Sania secured 11395 points while Hingis has 11355 points.

Among the Indian men, Rohan Bopanna is the only one to get placed in the top 10 of the doubles rankings. Marcelo Melo of Brazil secured No 1 rank followed by Horia Tecau of Romania and Netherlands Jean-Julien Rojer. At 95th position, Yuki Bhambri is the highest placed Indian in the men-s singles rankings. Novak Djokovic of Serbia tops the list followed by Andy Murray and Roger Federer.